‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ Takes Home Best Picture at AARP’s Movies for Grownups Awards – Variety

By Caroline Brew
Killers of the Flower Moon” won best picture at AARP The Magazine’s Movies for Grownups Awards, which spotlights films and TV content that speaks to a 50-plus audience.
“It’s been a good year for shows and movies by and for people over 50,” AARP TV and Film Critic Tim Appelo said in a statement. “Grownup talent and stories are being recognized across the board, and ageism in Hollywood does seem to be gradually eroding, with help from AARP. In 2000, shortly before the Movies for Grownups Awards began, only one of the top ten box office stars was over 50; today, half are.”
Annette Bening took home the best actress prize for “Nyad,” with Colman Domingo winning best actor for “Rustin.” Christopher Nolan won best director for “Oppenheimer,” while Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig won the best screenwriter prize for “Barbie.”

Meanwhile, “Succession” won for best TV movie/series or limited series. Jennifer Coolidge received the best TV actress award for “White Lotus,” and Bryan Cranston won the TV actor category for “Your Honor.”
See below for the full list of winners.
Best Picture/Best Movie for Grownups: “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Best Actress: Annette Bening (“Nyad”)
Best Actor: Colman Domingo (“Rustin”)
Best Supporting Actress: Jodie Foster (“Nyad”)
Best Supporting Actor: Robert De Niro (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Best Director: Christopher Nolan (“Oppenheimer”)
Best Screenwriter: Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig (“Barbie”)
Best Ensemble: “The Color Purple”
Best Actress (TV): Jennifer Coolidge (“The White Lotus”)
Best Actor (TV): Bryan Cranston (“Your Honor”)
Best TV Movie/Series or Limited Series: “Succession”
Best Reality TV Series: “The Golden Bachelor”
Best Intergenerational Film: “The Holdovers”
Best Time Capsule: “Maestro”
Best Documentary: “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”
Best Foreign Film: “The Zone of Interest” (U.K.)
The Business of Entertainment







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *